[Members] signin-to-browser initial architecture proposal

David Banes dbanes at cleartext.com
Fri May 4 08:27:12 UTC 2012


On 04/05/2012, at 9:17 AM, Dave Cridland wrote:

> On Fri May  4 00:30:50 2012, Kim Alvefur wrote:
>> On Wed, 2012-05-02 at 16:28 +0100, Dave Cridland wrote:
>> > I'm hearing muted support, but no objections, currently. I'd prefer
>> > to hear more support before we go for this.
>> You have my axe^Wsupport!
>> I'm also interested in helping to build a prototype.
> 
> That's good to hear.
> 
> A reminder - there's a Board meeting at 15:30 UTC (16:30 UK local, 17:30 CET, 11:30 EDT, 08:30 PDT, and so on), where we'll discuss this.
> 
> Please attend if you have strong views either way you wish to be taken into account, especially if you've not spoken up on the list.
> 
> Just to remind you, we're talking in terms of spending actual money pushing this, from the limited funds the XSF has.
> 
> Dave.
> -- 
> Dave Cridland - mailto:dave at cridland.net - xmpp:dwd at dave.cridland.net
> - acap://acap.dave.cridland.net/byowner/user/dwd/bookmarks/
> - http://dave.cridland.net/
> Infotrope Polymer - ACAP, IMAP, ESMTP, and Lemonade
> 

For the record I should say that I support this, it makes sense to get this into web browsers as this is where we are all increasingly running our apps. But it doe shake me wonder why we'd do this for XMPP when it's never been done for IMAP. A discussion for another thread maybe.

btw. I'm based in the UK now, living in High Wycombe, so happy to do a coffee, beer etc with an local XMPP 'peeps'... 

David.


David Banes
Managing Director, Cleartext.

Email & IM:	dbanes at cleartext.com
Twitter:		@dbanes
Mobile:		UK +44 782 5138 214   |   AU +61 411 747 821
Enquiries:	UK +44 207 786 3509   |   AU +61 2 9089 8957

http://www.cleartext.com/
http://twitter.com/cleartext

Communication, Collaboration and Content Management Best Practices for Small Businesses. 
- An Osterman Research White Paper Sponsored by Cleartext and McAfee.
http://www.cleartext.com/white-paper.php

- Cleartext gets an Honorable Mention @ 2010 Adobe MAX Awards 
- Cleartext on ReadWriteWeb's Top 50/100 Companies - http://ctr.im/9Q50l0

------
Cleartext Pty Ltd. An Australian Proprietary Limited Company. ABN 74 074 899 264 
Cleartext Ltd. Registered in England, Company Number 07815947
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
XMPP Instant Messaging, Filtering & Archiving by Cleartext - http://www.cleartext.com/im
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


More information about the Members mailing list