[Standards] XMPP Council Minutes 2018-11-07

Tedd Sterr teddsterr at outlook.com
Sat Nov 10 22:18:45 UTC 2018


http://logs.xmpp.org/council/2018-11-07/#16:03:11

Dave is here, but potentially not, and so asks Georg to chair; Georg graciously accepts.

1) Roll Call
Present: Georg, Dave, Daniel, Sam
Apologies: Kev

2) Lack of Agenda Bashing
Georg made a poor attempt at sneaking https://github.com/xsf/xeps/issues/717 onto the non-existent agenda; in his defence, he did write to the mailing list several months ago (https://mail.jabber.org/pipermail/standards/2018-March/034553.html) without receiving an answer to the important question.
Dave can't seem find XEP-0283 as it appears to have been <moved/>.
Georg also mentions the non-existent list of expired Council votes that should be recast.

3) https://github.com/xsf/xeps/issues/717
[Georg would like to resurrect XEP-0283 and allow automatic approval of JID changes (and maybe also invent some way to move local/MAM history for that contact.)]
Dave would like to see a PR, but feels it ought to be possible to allow automation and still satisfy the security considerations.
Georg suggests that proving ownership of both the old and new accounts by publishing cross-references on both should be enough to allow automatic JID replacement by remote entities; temporary control over an account is a possible attack vector, but then the account has already been compromised. Dave suggests a possible use case where the new account holder no longer has access to the old account - Georg is, conveniently, not speaking of that.
Georg asks what the relevant process is - Jonas says to make a PR, and the XEP's original author can be notified, or Council can override and accept a new author; Georg will start with a PR and authorship can be discussed later.

Daniel asks if this is the right time to mention not liking XMPP's mutual subscription; Georg thinks so; Sam also dislikes it; Dave would like to hear about it, but not right now.

Sam would like to see a PR on XEP-0283, but has a feeling that another server forcing your server to make new S2S connections might be bad somehow, though can't actually think of a problem; Georg will consider it, and the protocol must be bullet-proof with regard to race conditions since multiple servers are involved.

4) AOB
Georg mentions the upcoming XSF election night on 2018-11-22, and would love to get rid of the many expired items on the SoD before then; Jonas points out that many were vetoed and so are not up for re-voting.
Georg suggests somebody with free time should review the votes, i.e. nobody; Dave might be able to do it before the next meeting. Jonas resigns to the fact he will probably have to do it, if it's to get done.
Georg notices that recasting votes will give people two weeks, which will push into the next Council term, but would really like to have the list cleaned up in time for the next agenda.

5) AOAOB
[Apparently not.]

6) Next Meeting
Georg checks that next week works for everyone - Sam thinks so; Daniel probably won't be able to make it.

2018-11-14 1600 UTC (0800 PST; 1000 CST; 1100 EST; 1600 GMT; 1700 CET; 1800 EET; 1900 MSK; 2018-11-15 0000 AWST)

7) Close
Georg thanks everyone and hopes next week works out.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.jabber.org/pipermail/standards/attachments/20181110/2430b5b5/attachment.html>


More information about the Standards mailing list